With 161 days having gone by since the 2023 season finale in Monza, the 2024 Formula 3 campaign kicked off with pre-season testing today at the Bahrain International Circuit. It started with a rain-hampered morning session that was led by MP Motorsport rookie Alex Dunne.

In a much drier afternoon session, it was another newcomer who achieved the fastest lap. Van Amersfoort Racing’s Noel León secured top spot with a time of 1:46.657, with Campos Racing’s Oliver Goethe just a fraction off his pace.


As the lights turned green on the 2024 season, one by one the drivers filed out on the track for installation laps, led by Rodin Motorsport rookie Callum Voisin.

Following a quiet first hour of running, it was Charlie Wurz who led the way with a time of 2:00.598. His nearest challenger came in the form of his Jenzer Motorsport teammate Matías Zagazeta, who was just under a second off the lead time.

But with rain hitting the circuit and the track being declared wet, teams opted to keep their drivers and cars in the garages. That was until the final 10 minutes, when the sun began to shine through the dark clouds, leading to a flurry of activity in the pitlane.

A number of drivers traded fast laps in the closing stages before MP Motorsport rookie Dunne edged out Goethe to set the pace. The Irish driver’s time of 1:59.516 was good enough to top the leaderboard, with the German from Campos just 0.021s off the pace.

Tim Tramnitz ended up third for MP, about three and a half tenths off teammate Dunne’s benchmark time. Trident rookie driver Sami Meguetounif was fourth and the only other driver to dip below the two-minute mark.

Dunne led the way in the rain-affected morning session
Dunne led the way in the rain-affected morning session


With his first laps of the session, Hitech Pulse-Eight driver Luke Browning made the fastest start by going straight to the top of the timesheets. The British racer completed a 1:56.257 as track conditions started to improve.

At just under 90 minutes left of the day’s running, the majority of the field went out on track. Times started to tumble with drivers now going beneath the 1:50s for the first time in the day. Sophia Floersch took over the top spot, a Van Amersfoort Racing one-two, with León just over three-tenths off his teammate’s pace-setting time of 1:48.238.

With one hour remaining on the clock, Gabriele Minì then surged to the top of the leaderboard. PREMA Racing teammate Dino Beganovic tucked in right behind him, as his best effort was just 0.118s off the Italian’s benchmark 1:46.942.

With 10 minutes left in the afternoon, the time screens were being set alight with green and purple sectors. Leon now then took over the reins at the top of the timesheets. Goethe wound up just 0.015s off his pace, just ahead of Tramnitz, who was once again taking up P3 for MP Motorsport.

The Red Flags were then waved in the final minutes of the day as both Sebastián Montaya of Campos and Piotr Wisnicki of Rodin Motorsport parked their cars by the side of the road.

The second day of F3 pre-season testing will kick off at 09:00 local time and can be followed live via live timing.


1Alex DunneIREMP Motorsport1:59.5166
2Oliver GoetheDEUCampos Racing1:59.5374
3Tim TramnitzDEUMP Motorsport1:59.8726
4Sami MeguetounifFRATrident1:59.9964
5Gabriele MinìITAPREMA Racing2:00.1045
6Matías ZagazetaPARJenzer Motorsport2:00.1588
7Charlie WurzAUTJenzer Motorsport2:00.1818
8Leonardo FornaroliITATrident2:00.3086
9Dino BeganovicSWEPREMA Racing2:00.3684
10Kacper SztukaPOLMP Motorsport2:00.6846
11Max EstersonUSAJenzer Motorsport2:00.7858
12Arvid LindbladGBRPREMA Racing2:01.3445
13Mari BoyaESPCampos Racing2:01.3963
14Santiago RamosMEXTrident2:01.5654
15Sebastian MontoyaESPCampos Racing2:04.0583
16Callum VoisinGBRRodin Motorsport2:07.7771
17Joseph LoakeGBRRodin Motorsport2:12.9611
18Cian ShieldsGBRHitech Pulse-Eight-2
19Tasanapol InthraphuvasakTHAPHM AIX Racing-2
20Nikita BedrinITAPHM AIX Racing-2
21Joshua DufekAUTPHM AIX Racing-2
22Luke BrowningGBRHitech Pulse-Eight-1
23Martinius StenshorneNORHitech Pulse-Eight-1
24Noel LeónMEXVan Amersfoort Racing-1
25Sophia FloerschDEUVan Amersfoort Racing-1
26Tommy SmithAUSVan Amersfoort Racing-1
27Christian MansellAUSART Grand Prix-1
28Laurens van HoepenNLDART Grand Prix-1
29Nikola TsolovBULART Grand Prix-1
30Piotr WisnickiPOLRodin Motorsport-1


1Noel LeónMEXVan Amersfoort Racing1:46.65719
2Oliver GoetheDEUCampos Racing1:46.67220
3Tim TramnitzDEUMP Motorsport1:46.82822
4Santiago RamosMEXTrident1:46.93422
5Gabriele MinìITAPREMA Racing1:46.94215
6Leonardo FornaroliITATrident1:46.95318
7Dino BeganovicSWEPREMA Racing1:47.06017
8Sami MeguetounifFRATrident1:47.12523
9Sophia FloerschDEUVan Amersfoort Racing1:47.19417
10Nikola TsolovBULART Grand Prix1:47.20816
11Max EstersonUSAJenzer Motorsport1:47.28120
12Matías ZagazetaPARJenzer Motorsport1:47.43622
13Tommy SmithAUSVan Amersfoort Racing1:47.48120
14Charlie WurzAUTJenzer Motorsport1:47.55220
15Luke BrowningGBRHitech Pulse-Eight1:47.57321
16Arvid LindbladGBRPREMA Racing1:47.58619
17Mari BoyaESPCampos Racing1:47.59420
18Nikita BedrinITAPHM AIX Racing1:47.60422
19Alex DunneIREMP Motorsport1:47.61920
20Kacper SztukaPOLMP Motorsport1:47.76419
21Joseph LoakeGBRRodin Motorsport1:47.80225
22Piotr WisnickiPOLRodin Motorsport1:48.18225
23Sebastian MontoyaESPCampos Racing1:48.21420
24Callum VoisinGBRRodin Motorsport1:48.45724
25Christian MansellAUSART Grand Prix1:48.46413
26Martinius StenshorneNORHitech Pulse-Eight1:48.47520
27Laurens van HoepenNLDART Grand Prix1:49.38114
28Cian ShieldsGBRHitech Pulse-Eight1:49.96620
29Tasanapol InthraphuvasakTHAPHM AIX Racing1:50.9555
30Joshua DufekPOLPHM AIX Racing1:51.27217