Trident's Gabriel Bortoleto went two for two as he topped both sessions on Day 1 of in-season testing at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.

In the morning session, the Brazilian took his turn at the top of the timing sheets during the final hour with a 1:27.221, beating Grégoire Saucy and Dino Beganovic by just over two-tenths.

The Championship leader continued this trend into the quieter afternoon, nailing a 1:28.000 to edge just 0.076s ahead of Saucy and Franco Colapinto.


Luke Browning posted the early benchmark with a 1:29.385 in the opening half an hour as F3 action resumed in Europe. MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto then clocked two consecutive personal bests to set the early pace with a 1:28.068.

Five drivers traded fastest times during the second hour of running, with Zak O’Sullivan edging 0.030s ahead of his fellow Williams Academy junior. Campos Racing’s Josep María Martí became the first driver to break into the 1:27s, before PREMA Racing’s Dino Beganovic posted a 1:27.447 to go quickest of all.

default image

Shaving three-thousandths off the benchmark, Grégoire Saucy was next to the top. However, it was Gabriel Bortoleto whose time was unbeatable. Clocking in a 1:27.221 with over an hour of running remaining, the Trident driver went 0.203s faster than the #8 ART Grand Prix car.

11 drivers hit the 40-lap mark. Browning kept himself the busiest, logging in 47 laps in the #16 Hitech Pulse-Eight. Meanwhile, Campos teammates Martí and Christian Mansell both stopped at the pit exit as the session drew to a close.


Straight back on it, Bortoleto wasted no time in launching himself back up to P1 with a 1:31.960. The Campos trio of Martí, Hugh Barter and Mansell all headed to the top of the timing sheets, with the Spaniard going fastest with a 1:29.992.

Beganovic lowered the time to beat further, punching in a 1:29.573 to go two-tenths ahead of teammate Paul Aron. Van Amersfoort Racing’s Caio Collet leapt up to the head of the table, posting a 1:28.899 to go 0.674s quicker than the Ferrari junior. VAR teammate Rafael Villagómez then laid down a 1:28.814 to go fastest.

default image

Making the most of a clear track, Aron nudged in front with a 1:28.250 ahead of O’Sullivan and Beganovic. Sebastián Montoya later improved to second, closing the Mercedes junior’s advantage to 0.157s.

The only stoppage of the day came on the cusp of the final hour, as PHM Racing by Charouz’s Roberto Faria found the barriers on the exit of the final corner. Returning to green flag conditions for the final 45 minutes, Bortoleto set a 1:28.00 to go clear once again alongside racking up the most laps of the session with 46.


1Gabriel BortoletoTrident1:27.22114
2Grégoire SaucyART Grand Prix1:27.42440
3Dino BeganovicPREMA Racing1:27.44721
4Taylor BarnardJenzer Motorsport1:27.56042
5Zak O'SullivanPREMA Racing1:27.59722
6Gabriele MinìHitech Pulse-Eight1:27.64445
7Mari BoyaMP Motorsport1:27.73225
8Sebastián MontoyaHitech Pulse-Eight1:27.75646
9Paul AronPREMA Racing1 :27.76222
10Josep María MartíCampos Racing1:27.80641
11Nikola TsolovART Grand Prix1:27.84638
12Leonardo FornaroliTrident1:27.87315
13Oliver GoetheTrident1:27.94315
14Franco ColapintoMP Motorsport1:28.06825
15Jonny EdgarMP Motorsport1:28.10425
16Kaylen FrederickART Grand Prix1:28.29323
17Luke BrowningHitech Pulse-Eight1:28.37347
18Hugh BarterCampos Racing1:28.51143
19Christian MansellCampos Racing1:28.52341
20Caio ColletVan Amersfoort Racing1:28.55927
21Hunter YeanyRodin Carlin1:28.60638
22Nikita BedrinJenzer Motorsport1:28.70544
23Sophia FloerschPHM Racing by Charouz1:28.72422
24Rafael VillagómezVan Amersfoort Racing1:28.73828
25Oliver GrayRodin Carlin1:28.94740
26Alejandro GarcíaJenzer Motorsport1:28.99340
27Ido CohenRodin Carlin1:29.10739
28Piotr WisnickiPHM Racing by Charouz1:29.52927
29Tommy SmithVan Amersfoort Racing1:30.27843
30Roberto FariaPHM Racing by Charouz1:31.44716


1Gabriel BortoletoTrident1:28.00046
2Grégoire SaucyART Grand Prix1:28.07640
3Franco ColapintoMP Motorsport1:28.10739
4Sebastián MontoyaHitech Pulse-Eight1:28.15139
5Mari BoyaMP Motorsport1:28.23639
6Paul AronPREMA Racing1:28.25032
7Josep María MartíCampos Racing1:28.29833
8Oliver GoetheTrident1:28.37742
9Leonardo FornaroliTrident1:28.38340
10Zak O'SullivanPREMA Racing1:28.44632
11Luke BrowningHitech Pulse-Eight1:28.44838
12Hugh BarterCampos Racing1:28.52927
13Nikola TsolovART Grand Prix1:28.53040
14Gabriele MinìHitech Pulse-Eight1:28.53441
15Dino BeganovicPREMA Racing1:28.54632
16Christian MansellCampos Racing1:28.62730
17Rafael VillagómezVan Amersfoort Racing1:28.81428
18Taylor BarnardJenzer Motorsport1:28.88741
19Caio ColletVan Amersfoort Racing1:28.89932
20Nikita BedrinJenzer Motorsport1:29.03241
21Jonny EdgarMP Motorsport1:29.11941
22Kaylen FrederickART Grand Prix1:29.20341
23Tommy SmithVan Amersfoort Racing1:29.22531
24Hunter YeanyRodin Carlin1:29.60744
25Oliver GrayRodin Carlin1:29.63738
26Alejandro GarcíaJenzer Motorsport1:30.00539
27Ido CohenRodin Carlin1:30.13434
28Sophia FloerschPHM Racing by Charouz1:31.17435
29Piotr WisnickiPHM Racing by Charouz1:31.21129
30Roberto FariaPHM Racing by Charouz1:33.4459