Gabriele Minì made the most out of the first day of running around the Imola circuit, ending fastest of all on Day 1 of the final post-season test of the 2023 season.

In the morning, Dino Beganovic capitalised on a window between two late Red Flags to put his PREMA Racing car on top with a 1:30.946 ahead of Mari Boya and Luke Browning.

Minì was the pacesetter for most of the second session after setting the leading times early on. The Italian driver returned to the top of the timesheets for the final hour, improving to a 1:30.225 to finish almost three tenths clear of Campos Racing’s Oliver Goethe and teammate Beganovic.


A leisurely start to running saw PHM Racing become the only team to set a laptime inside the opening 35 minutes, with Joshua Dufek getting the initial benchmark on the board with a 1:35.204.

Tommy Smith was the first of the Van Amersfoort Racing’s trio to go fastest. Setting a 1:33.682, the Australian then improved by over a second before teammates Sophia Floersch and Noel León bettered his efforts in turn, with the Mexican driver posting a 1:32.431.

As the track began to liven up, Browning broke into the 1:31s before lowering the time to beat to a 1:31.059, 1.3s ahead of MP Motorsport’s Grégoire Saucy and Martinius Stenshorne in the fellow Hitech Pulse-Eight car.

The Red Flag was flown with just over two hours to go after ART Grand Prix’s Nikola Tsolov found the barriers at Turn 4. Once running resumed, Leonardo Fornaroli in the #4 Trident and Goethe traded personal bests in second, with the German driver shaving Browning’s advantage out front down to 0.134s.

The gap then closed further as Beganovic lifted himself into second, momentarily. Next to improve into P2 was Mari Boya for Campos. Having previously closed to 0.012s the leading time, the Spaniard put himself on top, going quickest on a 1:30.966.

With 23 minutes left of the morning session, the Red Flag made a brief second appearance after Minì stopped on track at Turn 9. Beganovic took advantage of the return to Green Flag conditions, nudging ahead of Boya by two thousandths.

However, the resumption of running was only last a short while before another Red Flag. With less than five minutes on the clock, the session was not resumed.

default image


PREMA instantly set to work as Minì set a 1:31.873 to get the afternoon underway. Beganovic hit the ground running too, going almost half a tenth quicker than the Alpine junior, whilst Arvid Lindblad followed close behind in third.

The proceedings were interrupted during the opening 15 minutes after Joshua Dürksen went off track at Turn 3. The #29 PHM Racing car was recovered, and the session recommenced briefly before Callum Voisin found the gravel trap at the same corner, triggering another Red Flag period.

With just over two hours of track time remaining, Minì returned to the top spot on a 1:31.306, as Beganovic and MP Motorsport’s Tim Tramnitz slotted in close behind in second and third.

Improvements were still there to be found inside the final hour. Fornaroli jumped ahead of his compatriot by 0.041s, followed by Goethe who went fastest on a 1:31.142. It wasn’t long before Minì led the field once again, clocking in a 1:30.483.

Goethe closed to within three thousandths of the Italian’s time, but Minì then found a further 0.258s to secure an unbeatable 1:30.225. Boya was another late improver, leapfrogging Fornaroli to fourth, whilst Lindblad ended Day 1 as the leading rookie in sixth.

Six hours of track time await the field when the sixth and final day of post-season testing gets underway tomorrow at 09:00 local time (GMT+2).


1Dino BeganovicSWEPREMA Racing1:30.94621
2Mari BoyaESPCampos Racing1:30.96624
3Luke BrowningGBRHitech Pulse-Eight1:31.05916
4Gabriele MinìITAPREMA Racing1:31.16717
5Oliver GoetheDEUCampos Racing1:31.19319
6Grégoire SaucyCHEMP Motorsport1:31.20830
7Leonardo FornaroliITATrident1:31.20923
8Charlie WurzAUTJenzer Motorsport1:31.31730
9Nikola TsolovBGRART Grand Prix1:31.33520
10Sami MeguetounifFRATrident1:31.35131
11Arvid LindbladGBRPREMA Racing1:31.49922
12Martinius StenshorneNORHitech Pulse-Eight1:31.57133
13Laurens van HoepenNLDART Grand Prix1:31.57925
14Max EstersonUSAJenzer Motorsport1:31.58932
15Tommy SmithAUSVan Amersfoort Racing1:31.77932
16Sophia FloerschDEUVan Amersfoort Racing1:31.81536
17Christian MansellAUSART Grand Prix1:31.92227
18Tim TramnitzDEUMP Motorsport1:31.94830
19Santiago RamosMEXTrident1:32.08826
20Joshua DufekCHEPHM Racing1:32.11231
21Louis SharpNZLRodin Carlin1:32.13028
22Callum VoisinGBRRodin Carlin1:32.15926
23Ugo UgochukwuUSARodin Carlin1:32.21927
24Noel LeónMEXVan Amersfoort Racing1:32.22936
25Matias ZagazetaPERJenzer Motorsport1:32.23027
26Joshua DürksenPRYPHM Racing1:32.48431
27Kacper SztukaPOLMP Motorsport1:32.79530
28Cian ShieldsGBRHitech Pulse-Eight1:33.26129
29Tasanapol InthraphuvasakTHAPHM Racing1:33.31319
30Sebastián MontoyaCOLCampos Racing----


1Gabriele MinìITAPREMA Racing1:30.22544
2Oliver GoetheDEUCampos Racing1:30.51939
3Dino BeganovicSWEPREMA Racing1:30.58545
4Mari BoyaESPCampos Racing1:30.82934
5Leonardo FornaroliITATrident1:30.83234
6Arvid LindbladGBRPREMA Racing1:31.08447
7Nikola TsolovBGRART Grand Prix1:31.22544
8Martinius StenshorneNORHitech Pulse-Eight1:31.31247
9Sami MeguetounifFRATrident1:31.31323
10Tim TramnitzDEUMP Motorsport1:31.40832
11Grégoire SaucyCHEMP Motorsport1:31.46730
12Alex DunneIRLHitech Pulse-Eight1:31.49523
13Christian MansellAUSART Grand Prix1:31.50544
14Charlie WurzAUTJenzer Motorsport1:31.52942
15Matias Zagazeta    PERJenzer Motorsport1:31.56440
16Sebastián MontoyaCOLCampos Racing1:31.56638
17Max EstersonUSAJenzer Motorsport1:31.60540
18Laurens van HoepenNLDART Grand Prix1:31.72743
19Kacper SztukaPOLMP Motorsport1:31.76332
20Noel LeónMEXVan Amersfoort Racing1:31.78639
21Santiago RamosMEXTrident1:31.78631
22Tommy SmithAUSVan Amersfoort Racing1:31.85134
23Ugo UgochukwuUSARodin Carlin1:31.92733
24Sophia FloerschDEUVan Amersfoort Racing1:32.18236
25Tasanapol InthraphuvasakTHAPHM Racing1:32.24726
26Callum VoisinGBRRodin Carlin1:32.40134
27Louis SharpNZLRodin Carlin1:32.55735
28Cian ShieldsGBRHitech Pulse-Eight1:32.62144
29Joshua DürksenPRYPHM Racing1:34.2415
30Joshua DufekCHEPHM Racing1:34.52313