MP Motorsport second-year Caio Collet displayed his experience during a Qualifying simulation in the morning session on Day 2 of testing in Barcelona, setting the fastest time of the test overall with a 1:31.507.

The Brazilian racer was 0.317s quicker than his teammate, Alex Smolyar, who finished second, while Franco Colapinto – who topped the mileage chart for the second day in a row - was in third with a 1:31.848 for Van Amersfoort Racing.

Jenzer Motorsport’s Williams Alatalo posted a 1:34.488 to top a long-run focused afternoon session in Barcelona, beating Campos Racing’s Josep María Martí and PREMA Racing’s Arthur Leclerc.


It was a busy final morning in Barcelona as many of the racers got stuck into some Qualifying simulations on fresh Pirelli rubber. Grégoire Saucy set the marker at 1:32.109 for ART Grand Prix under the sun in Spain.

The Swiss’ spell at the top was short-lived as Collet dropped a 1:31.507 to put himself at the top of the standings, ahead of his MP teammate, Smolyar, who was 0.317s shy of the Brazilian.

Colapinto’s one-lap speed was on display once again as the Round 1 polesitter made the top three for the second day in a row at Barcelona, setting a 1:31.848 in his VAR. The Argentine was the busiest man for the third session in a row, adding a further 51 laps to an already impressive tally of 103 from Day 1.

READ MORE: Testing helped Rasmussen transition back to the ‘F3 style of thinking’

Alatalo was fastest in the afternoon session
Alatalo was fastest in the afternoon session

Hitech Grand Prix rookie Isack Hadjar is another who has shown strong short-run speed since stepping up to F3 and the Frenchman was fourth at the end of the running, just over three tenths off P1.

Trident’s Roman Staněk completed the top five, beating Saucy, who had set the fastest time on Day 1 in Barcelona. Staněk’s Trident teammates Oliver Rasmussen and Zane Maloney were seventh and eighth, ahead of ART Grand Prix’s Matteo Nannini. PREMA Racing’s Arthur Leclerc completed the top 10.


After a short-run session in the morning, the field dedicated the afternoon to race simulations, with Jenzer heading out onto the tarmac as soon as the light went green.

Alatalo set the benchmark at 1:34.488 for the Swiss side before they were joined by the ever-busy Van Amersfoort Racing trio. When the remainder of the grid left the pits and headed out onto the track, Martí jumped to second place for Campos, 0.496s off Alatalo.

Rafael Villagomez spent the majority of the session in third but was bumped down to fourth in the final few minutes by Ferrari junior Leclerc, who couldn’t quite break the 1m 35s barrier and ended up 0.580s short of Alatalo.

READ MORE: Trulli sees ‘a lot of potential’ after making ‘big step’ to F3

Colapinto topped the mileage count for the second day in a row completing 106 laps
Colapinto topped the mileage count for the second day in a row, completing 106 laps

Villagomez did, however, end the afternoon with the highest lap count, completing a mega 58 tours of the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. Leclerc’s PREMA teammate, Ollie Bearman was also a late entrant to the top 10, with British Ferrari junior taking P5 with just minutes on the clock, 0.732s off the leading time.

David Schumacher finished sixth in only his fourth session back in F3 for Charouz Racing System, with the German beating Jenzer duo Federico Malvestiti and Ido Cohen by just a few hundredths.

Campos Racing’s David Vidales and the third PREMA of Jak Crawford completed a top 10 that was separated by less than a second.

The F3 racers have less than a week to wait before they get the chance to put their learnings to the test, with Round 2 in Imola starting on Friday, April 22.


1Caio ColletBRAMP Motorsport1:31.50733
2Alexander SmolyarANDMP Motorsport1:31.82437
3Franco ColapintoARGVan Amersfoort Racing1:31.84851
4Isack HadjarFRAHitech Grand Prix1:31.85546
5Roman StanekCZETrident1:31.93528
6Grégoire SaucyCHEART Grand Prix1:32.00242
7Oliver RasmussenDNKTrident1:32.08020
8Zane MaloneyBRBTrident1:32.10727
9Matteo NanniniITAART Grand Prix1:32.17747
10Arthur LeclercMCOPREMA Racing1:32.20641
11Kush MainiINDMP Motorsport1:32.22324
12Josep María MartíESPCampos Racing1:32.38038
13Jak CrawfordUSAPREMA Racing1:32.41236
14Victor MartinsFRAART Grand Prix1:32.42244
15David VidalesESPCampos Racing1:32.43336
16Hunter YeanyUSACampos Racing1:32.54937
17Kaylen FrederickUSAHitech Grand Prix1:32.55049
18Reece UshijimaGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1:32.55547
19Oliver BearmanGBRPREMA Racing1:32.56141
20Rafael VillagómezMEXVan Amersfoort Racing1:32.66938
21William AlataloFINJenzer Motorsport1:32.84737
22Francesco PizziITACharouz Racing System1:32.85144
23Zak O’SullivanGBRCarlin1:32.93530
24David SchumacherDEUCharouz Racing System1:33.00143
25Enzo TrulliITACarlin1:33.08431
26Nazim AzmanMYSHitech Grand Prix1:33.28333
27Federico MalvestitiITAJenzer Motorsport1:33.29730
28Brad BenavidesESPCarlin1:33.34730
29Ido CohenISRJenzer Motorsport1:33.45730
30László TóthHUNCharouz Racing System1:34.52248


1William AlataloFINJenzer Motorsport1:34.48840
2Josep María MartíESPCampos Racing1:34.98446
3Arthur LeclercMCOPREMA Racing1:35.02721
4Rafael VillagómezMEXVan Amersfoort Racing1:35.06858
5Oliver BearmanGBRPREMA Racing1:35.22020
6David SchumacherDEUCharouz Racing System1:35.24230
7Federico MalvestitiITAJenzer Motorsport1:35.29043
8Ido CohenISRJenzer Motorsport1:35.30748
9David VidalesESPCampos Racing1:35.43547
10Jak CrawfordUSAPREMA Racing1:35.45525
11Reece UshijimaGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1:35.66956
12Kaylen FrederickUSAHitech Grand Prix1:35.78342
13Kush MainiINDMP Motorsport1:36.19536
14Isack HadjarFRAHitech Grand Prix1:36.33148
15Caio ColletBRAMP Motorsport1:37.03248
16Matteo NanniniITAART Grand Prix1:37.08552
17Roman StanekCZETrident1:37.37152
18Franco ColapintoARGVan Amersfoort Racing1:37.46755
19Zane MaloneyBRBTrident1:37.55653
20Grégoire SaucyCHEART Grand Prix1:37.55953
21Francesco PizziITACharouz Racing System1:37.56631
22Enzo TrulliITACarlin1:37.69956
23Victor MartinsFRAART Grand Prix1:37.78851
24Oliver RasmussenDNKTrident1:37.80452
25Hunter YeanyUSACampos Racing1:37.95924
26Zak O’SullivanGBRCarlin1:38.14557
27Nazim AzmanMYSHitech Grand Prix1:38.30345
28Brad BenavidesESPCarlin1:38.67549
29László TóthHUNCharouz Racing System1:38.80937