Grégoire Saucy topped a busy morning on the second day of pre-season testing. The ART Grand Prix driver was immediately out on track and on the pace, eventually setting a 1:46.642 to top the times for the morning segment.

In the afternoon, rookie Gabriele Miní took Hitech Pulse-Eight to the top of the timing screens. The Italian put in a 1:48.175 to secure the top spot in the afternoon session ahead of Saucy, who missed out on topping his fourth-consecutive session by 0.036s.

Here is how Day 2 of testing around the Bahrain International Circuit unfolded.


Sophia Flörsch led the way out of the garages for the morning session with everyone getting laps in early. Gabriele Bortoleto put in a 1:47.808 to go quickest in the opening minutes for Trident. Grégoire Saucy slotted in two-tenths behind with Jenzer Motorsport’s Taylor Barnard third.

The ART Grand Prix driver didn’t take long to retake the top spot. He fired in a 1:46.697 to go comfortably fastest as the first driver into the 1:46s. He lowered that by 0.055s with an hour and a half to go before the only Red Flag of the morning after Alejandro Garcia stopped on track at Turn 6. Saucy’s time remained unbeaten to the chequered flag.

With the track back to green, Dino Beganovic, Gabriele Miní and Bortoleto could hardly be split in second, third and fourth places respectively, separated by 0.076s. Franco Colapinto moved himself up the order to round out the top five going into the final hour.

With the temperatures rising as midday approached, further personal bests were sparse and long runs became the focus until the end of the session. Miní was the busiest of all, putting in 39 laps across the morning.

default image


Hunter Yeany led the way back out for the afternoon running, with Josep María Martí topping the times in the early stages. The second Red Flag of the day was thrown soon after due to Saucy stopping out on track, but the session was quickly back underway.

Martí broke into the 1:49s to extend his advantage at the top before a second Red Flag for a car pulling off circuit, this time for Oliver Gray. The session went back to green with an hour and 45 minutes remaining. Van Amersfoort Racing’s Tommy Smith and then Trident’s Leonardo Fornaroli took turns at the top heading into the final hour of track time on Day 2.

Times began to improve once more as the sun began to set, with Bortoleto returning to the top of the timing screens on a 1:48.388. Miní moved back into P1 with just over half an hour still to run, 0.099s clear of Hitech Pulse-Eight teammate Sebastián Montoya in second.

A flurry of improvements in the final 10 minutes of the session changed the order somewhat, with Saucy going just 0.036s from taking P1 once again. Montoya, Collet and Beganovic completed the top five.

The final day of F3 pre-season testing will kick off at 09:00 local time and can be followed live via live timing.


1Grégoire SaucyART Grand Prix1:46.64235
2Dino BeganovicPREMA Racing1:47.12133
3Gabriele MinìHitech Pulse-Eight1:47.16639
4Gabriel BortoletoTrident1:47.19724
5Franco ColapintoMP Motorsport1:47.26627
6Nikola TsolovART Grand Prix1:47.28734
7Luke BrowningHitech Pulse-Eight1:47.33937
8Kaylen FrederickART Grand Prix1:47.35936
9Taylor BarnardJenzer Motorsport1:47.38025
10Zak O'SullivanPREMA Racing1:47.38732
11Josep María MartíCampos Racing1:47.41926
12Mari BoyaMP Motorsport1:47.46024
13Sebastian MontoyaHitech Pulse-Eight1:47.48039
14Caio ColletVan Amersfoort Racing1:47.51533
15Jonny EdgarMP Motorsport1:47.53926
16Hugh BarterCampos Racing1:47.64534
17Paul AronPREMA Racing1:47.68831
18Nikita BedrinJenzer Motorsport1:47.87327
19Olver GoetheTrident1:48.06022
20Oliver GrayRodin Carlin1:48.10735
21Christian MansellCampos Racing1:48.15832
22Sophia FlörschPHM Racing by Charouz1:48.32233
23Rafael VillagómezVan Amersfoort Racing1:48.3434
24Huntery YeanyRodin Carlin1:48.41536
25Ido CohenRodin Carlin1:48.47135
26Leonardo ForanroliTrident1:48.50121
27Alejandro GarcíaJenzer Motorsport1:48.58815
28Piotr WisnickiPHM Racing by Charouz1:48.92126
29Roberto FariaPHM Racing by Charouz1:49.94112
30Tommy SmithVan Amersfoort Racing1:50.93615


1Gabriele MinìHitech Pulse-Eight1:48.17529
2Grégoire SaucyART Grand Prix1:48.21116
3Sebastián MontoyaHitech Pulse-Eight1:48.27434
4Caio ColletVan Amersfoort Racing1:48.31834
5Dino BeganovicPREMA Racing1:48.32935
6Gabriele BortoletoTrident1:48.38833
7Luke BrowningHitech Pulse-Eight1:48.48731
8Josep María MartíCampos Racing1:48.48928
9Paul AronPREMA Racing1:48.62836
10Zak O'SullivanPREMA Racing1:48.66537
11Rafael VillagómezVan Amersfoort Racing1:48.69428
12Kaylen FrederickART Grand Prix1:48.82134
13Nikola TsolovART Grand Prix1:48.83136
14Christian MansellCampos Racing1:48.92329
15Taylor BarnardJenzer Motorsport1:48.93133
16Nikita BedrinJenzer Motorsport1:48.98332
17Oliver GoetheTrident1:49.00129
18Leonardo FornaroliTrident1:49.13222
19Hugh BarterCampos Racing1:49.19625
20Alejandro GarcíaJenzer Motorsport1:49.83832
21Tommy SmithVan Amersfoort Racing1:49.86931
22Sophia FlörschPHM Racing by Charouz1:49.99124
23Ido CohenRodin Carlin1:50.01426
24Piotr WisnickiPHM Racing by Charouz1:50.06425
25Hunter YeanyRodin Carlin1:50.34127
26Roberto FariaPHM Racing by Charouz1:50.39115
27Franco ColapintoMP Motorsport1:51.55435
28Jonny EdgarMP Motorsport1:52.14531
29Mari BoyaMP Motorsport1:52.50932
30Oliver GrayRodin Carlin1:53.3246