Rookies Gabriel Bortoleto and Nikita Bedrin topped the closing day of in-season testing at the Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari.

Taking the honours of the fastest time of testing, Bortoleto put Trident to the top of the morning timing sheets with a 1:30.312 ahead of Bedrin and Franco Colapinto.

Topping his third session out of four, Bedrin dominated the afternoon’s running virtually from start to finish. Nobody could touch the Jenzer Motorsport driver’s time, clocking in a 1:31.536 around the Italian circuit ahead of teammate Taylor Barnard and Bortoleto.


Quick out of the box at the start of running, Martí swiftly set the pace for Campos Racing with a 1:30.924, going over three tenths quicker than Day 1’s pace-setter Bedrin. But no sooner had the session started before its first stoppage, after Trident’s Oliver Goethe crashed at Turn 19 within the opening 20 minutes.

As times began flooding in, Dino Beganovic, Bedrin, Colapinto and Browning all leapfrogged the Spaniard, with the #1 PREMA Racing car dropping a 1:30.547. On his next attempt, Colapinto knocked the Ferrari junior off the top spot by 0.076s, before Bedrin snuck ahead with a 1:30.416. Jenzer Motorsport’s promising pace continued as Taylor Barnard joined his teammate inside the top three.

default image

The final driver to get a time on the board, Championship leader Bortoleto, rocketed back up front with a 1:30.312, eclipsing Bedrin’s time by 0.104s. The top 10 remained the same from there on out, as the warmer midday temperatures saw teams transition into long runs.

Two Red Flags would be triggered in the final hour and half of running courtesy of MP Motorsport duo Colapinto and Mari Boya. Firstly, the Williams junior stopped on track at Turn 7, followed by Boya finding the gravel trap at Turn 12 in the concluding 30 minutes.

Putting in the most laps of the morning session, Martí completed 44 runs overall, with 24 drivers reaching the 30-lap marker across the three hours.


Greeted by warmer and sunnier conditions, track temperatures hovered around the 42˚ mark as the final testing session got underway. The rookies continued to stake their claim on the fastest time, with Bedrin jumping to the top with a 1:31.536 to lead a Jenzer 1-2 by two tenths to Barnard.

The quickest driver of the morning wasn’t far behind as Bortoleto moved up to third ahead of his Trident teammates. Recovering from his earlier stoppage, Goethe climbed into up into fourth, just in front of Leonardo Fornaroli and Van Amersfoort Racing’s Tommy Smith. With their best efforts all set within the opening hour, the top six remained unchanged to the chequered flag.

default image

While the middle stint concentrated on long-run pace, that didn’t stop several improvements towards the back end of the top 10. After being absent on Day 1, Rodin Carlin’s Hunter Yeany slotted up into ninth at the halfway point.

Meanwhile, the Hitech Pulse-Eight saved their best till last for the final hour of uninterrupted running. Gabriele Minì’s effort was rewarded with seventh, ahead of Boya, Luke Browning and the third Jenzer car of Alejandro García.

An impressive 10 drivers broke into a half century, but it was Zak O’Sullivan in the #3 PREMA that went the distance, putting down 66 laps in total.


1Gabriel BortoletoTrident1:30.31235
2Nikita BedrinJenzer Motorsport1:30.41631
3Franco ColapintoMP Motorsport1:30.47134
4Taylor BarnardJenzer Motorsport1:30.52731
5Dino BeganovicPREMA Racing1:30.54731
6Josep María MartíCampos Racing1:30.59644
7Paul AronPREMA Racing1:30.60033
8Grégoire SaucyART Grand Prix1:30.64740
9Luke BrowningHitech Pulse-Eight1:30.76637
10Caio ColletVan Amersfoort Racing1:30.79132
11Gabriele MinìHitech Pulse-Eight1:30.80424
12Sebastián MontoyaHitech Pulse-Eight1:30.90239
13Zak O'SullivanPREMA Racing1:30.92533
14Christian MansellCampos Racing1:30.93943
15Hugh BarterCampos Racing1:30.99137
16Leonardo FornaroliTrident1:31.02139
17Kaylen FrederickART Grand Prix1:31.09042
18Nikola TsolovART Grand Prix1:31.16940
19Jonny EdgarMP Motorsport1:31.17830
20Oliver GrayRodin Carlin1:31.24842
21Ido CohenRodin Carlin1:31.26643
22Rafael VillagómezVan Amersfoort Racing1:31.33228
23Tommy SmithVan Amersfoort Racing1:31.50930
24Hunter YeanyRodin Carlin1:31.97437
25Sophia FloerschPHM Racing by Charouz1:32.10828
26Piotr WisnickiPHM Racing by Charouz1:32.12233
27Alejandro GarcíaJenzer Motorsport1:32.17730
28Oliver GoetheTrident1:32.4148
29Roberto FariaPHM Racing by Charouz1:33.58724
30Mari BoyaMP Motorsport1:49.9999


1Nikita BedrinJenzer Motorsport1:31.53647
2Taylor BarnardJenzer Motorsport1:31.75745
3Gabriel BortoletoTrident1:32.01641
4Oliver GoetheTrident1:32.08556
5Leonardo FornaroliTrident1:32.16037
6Tommy SmithVan Amersfoort Racing1:32.19734
7Gabriele MinìHitech Pulse-Eight1:32.72448
8Mari BoyaMP Motorsport1:32.88645
9Luke BrowningHitech Pulse-Eight1:33.03443
10Alejandro GarcíaJenzer Motorsport1:33.12247
11Rafael VillagómezVan Amersfoort Racing1:33.30920
12Sebastián MontoyaHitech Pulse-Eight1:33.53349
13Hunter YeanyRodin Carlin1:33.53843
14Ido CohenRodin Carlin1:33.54025
15Oliver GrayRodin Carlin1:33.55734
16Sophia FloerschPHM Racing by Charouz1:33.58942
17Piotr WisnickiPHM Racing by Charouz1:33.97931
18Franco ColapintoMP Motorsport1:34.47530
19Nikola TsolovART Grand Prix1:34.60461
20Hugh BarterCampos Racing1:34.64842
21Grégoire SaucyART Grand Prix1:34.68663
22Roberto FariaPHM Racing by Charouz1:34.69830
23Josep María MartíCampos Racing1:34.75844
24Dino BeganovicPREMA Racing1:34.77257
25Zak O'SullivanPREMA Racing1:34.77466
26Christian MansellCampos Racing1:34.98453
27Kaylen FrederickART Grand Prix1:35.10760
28Jonny EdgarMP Motorsport1:35.27151
29Paul AronPREMA Racing1:35.38154
30Caio ColletVan Amersfoort Racing1:35.38763