Three drivers have received time penalties following today’s F3 Sprint Race at Imola, starting with Kaylen Frederick. The Hitech Grand Prix driver was overtaking Ido Cohen on the approach of Turn 2. He braked late and locked up his wheels, causing him to lose control of his car momentarily, which resulted in the collision with the Jenzer Motorsport driver. It was determined that Frederick was wholly to blame for the incident and thus received a five second time penalty. Once added to his elapsed time, the American who had classified P8 drops to P16 in the final results. This also promotes Charouz Racing System’s Francesco Pizzi to tenth, thus earning his maiden F3 point

Meanwhile, Cohen also received a five second time penalty after it was found that he had left the track at Turns 15 and 19 four times without justification. The Israeli driver had classified P23 and remains 23rd after the penalty has been applied.

Carlin’s Enzo Trulli was the final driver to receive a post-race penalty after it was found that he overtook Cohen under yellow flag conditions. Although Cohen was only slightly ahead of Trulli at the beginning of the yellow flag sector, the stewards determined that the Italian overtook the Jenzer driver while it was prohibited to do so. The Carlin driver was handed a five second time penalty as a result, he had classified P21 and drops to P22 in the final standings.