Franco Colapinto has lost the Melbourne Sprint Race victory following a post-race inspection found a technical infringement on his car.

The MP Motorsport driver had taken his first win of the 2023 season, but the Argentine has been stripped of this result after his car was checked, following the conclusion of the Sprint.

Pieces of bodywork were found to be outside of the regulatory limits, contravening Articles 1.3 and 2.5 of the Technical Regulations. Modifications to the geometry of the parts in question are prohibited by the rules outside of basic repairs.

MP Motorsport drivers Mari Boya and Jonny Edgar have also been disqualified from the race for the same technical infringement as was found on Colapinto’s car.

It means that PREMA Racing’s Zak O’Sullivan inherits the Sprint victory, promoting Hitech Pulse-Eight’s Sebastián Montoya to second and Paul Aron to third.